The Irrigation Australia Board are committed to the important relationship it has with the International Commission on Irrigation and Drainage (ICID) and have approved an Australian National Committee and Charter.

Momir Vranes
Chairman, ICID Australian National Committee
Momir is a Water Resources Management Consultant with over 30 years of expertise in Water Resources Planning and Development, Sustainable Water Resources Development, Dam Design and Irrigation Development.
Karlene Maywald
Until recently Karlene was the Chair of the National Water Commission. Karlene was the representative for the seat of Chaffey in the SA House of Assembly from 1997 until 2010. From 2004 until 2010, she was South Australia’s Minister for Water Security and the River Murray. Karlene is also the Managing Director of Maywald Consultants Pty Ltd.
Peter Hayes
Member, ICID Australian National Committee
Peter has 30+ years of experience in the wine industry serving many Executive, Managerial, Educational and Research roles across the public and private sector. Peter is currently an Independent for the wine sector strategy, R&D, Innovation and advisor for projects in Australia, India, and the UK.
Geoff Harvey
National Training, Certification & Marketing Manager, Irrigation Australia Limited
Geoff joined Irrigation Australia in 2016 after spending 22 years in the water industry. Before his role with IAL, Geoff had a long career with Davey Water Products in which he has held many senior management positions across sales and marketing.
Carl Walters
Manager Sustainable Irrigation, Goulburn Broken Catchment Management Authority
Carl has had active involvement with IAL and its predecessor organisations for over 20 years, including working groups and overseas representation through ICID, with several Australia sessions.
Peter Durand
Business Development Manager, Netafim
Peter has held a variety of roles throughout his 19 year career in the irrigation industry. These roles include research work on irrigation channels in the Ord Irrigation Area, working for an irrigation dealership, and a series of roles in Netafim Australia encompassing sales, technical and management.
Eddie Parr
Principal, Ammerdown Environmental Services
Eddie was the Leader, Irrigation Industry Development with New South Wales DPI at Orange. He has worked in irrigation extension and water policy for many years before retiring. Eddie was instrumental in establishing the Waterwise on the Farm program in New South Wales.
Bryan Ward
CEO, Irrigation Australia
Bryan joined Irrigation Australia in 2016 as CEO after spending nine years as General Manager of Think Water. Before this Bryan had senior roles at organisations in the meat and dairy industry in Australia & New Zealand and was a Board member of the Australian Dairy Corporation for five years.
Michael Scobie
National Centre for Engineering in Agriculture, University of Southern Queensland
Michael Scobie is an award-winning scientist and engineer based at the National Centre for Engineering in Agriculture, University of Southern Queensland. With 20 years’ experience working in the agri-environmental field he has significant experience leading projects and teams across a range of irrigation and water resources projects in Australia, USA, UK and Asia.
Tony Slatyer
Until 2017, Tony served successive Australian Governments in national water policy and administration, as head of the Water Division in the Department of Agriculture and Water Resources. Tony is currently engaged on an ‘as needs’ basis as Special Adviser on Water to the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. He is also a member of International Technical Committee of the Alliance for Water Stewardship, a member of the Steering Committee of the World Meteorological Organisation’s World Water Data Initiative, and a member of the ACT Branch Committee of the Australian Water Association.
Chris Delphin - Secretariat
Business Administration Manager & Company Secretary, Irrigation Australia
Chris has 25 years plus experience in business administration and corporate governance. She has held senior secretarial and administrative roles in the private sector and has experience in business banking and accounting practice administration.
Isaac Jeffery
Chief Executive Officer, National Irrigator’s Council (NIC)
Chief Executive Officer of the National Irrigator’s Council (NIC) based in Canberra, ACT, Isaac Jeffrey joined the IACID committee in January 2021. He is also a member of Irrigation Australia’s Young Irrigation Professionals Committee. Isaac has extensive private and public sector leadership experience with skills in government relations and complex policy development which are critical to navigating the challenging issues of water management and energy.
Patrick Johnson
Young Irrigation Professional on the IACID Committee
Patrick is the Young Irrigation Professionals Representative on the IACID Committee. He is the Area Sales Manager / Technical Services WA/NT at Netafim working in the horticulture and agriculture irrigation sector across Western Australia. He is involved in several key projects including the adoption of drip irrigation in the avocado region of Manjimup and Pemberton to increase the efficiency of water and fertilizer usage on the crop and the retrofit of vineyard irrigation in the Margaret River region.